Who is sergeant barry sadler?

Barry Sadler was an American soldier, singer-songwriter, and author. Sadler served as a Green Beret medic, achieving the rank of Staff Sergeant. He served in the Vietnam War from late December 1964 to late May 1965. He became a national sensation with his song “The Ballad of the Green Berets.”