Are perogies from poland?

Pierogi are filled dumplings common across Central & Eastern Europe, including Poland, Ukraine, Hungary, Russia, and Slavic countries (among others). While the name comes from Polish or Slavic, the origin of the dish is unclear; some claim they were brought to Poland from Kiev, China, or Russia.