Is shredded paper considered brown compost?

Shredded paper is one of the materials that can go into compost, and it counts as a “brown” or one that provides carbon for your compost. Newsprint to cardboard, will work and are permissible as an ingredient in compost. No colored or glossy paper should be used as it may carry toxic heavy metals.