How do hot air balloons work?

Hot air balloons work by creating hot air that rises in cooler air. Trapping this hot air in the balloon causing the balloon to rise.

---

Hot air balloons work by Firing the burner heats more hot air and causes the balloon to rise further. As the hot air cools, the balloon will descend. There is a vent in the balloon canopy that allows hot air to escape and this is another means for the balloon to descend.