What does a cat's whiskers do?

They act as sensors to tell a cat where his or her body is in space. Generally, cats won't stick their heads into a space that is smaller than the width of their whiskers. This prevents them from getting stuck in small areas and lets them sense other things like predators. They are very sensitive!