Why is the baby deer follow its mother?

Healthy baby fawns are daily left alone by their mothers while the mothers forage for food. ... If however you do not leave the fawn alone, the doe will not return to her baby as she will sense danger. Once she senses the potential danger is gone, she will then rejoin her young.