What does a diesel engine sound like?

A Diesel engine sounds similar to a gasoline powered engine, except that they tend to produce a louder, more rough sound. The basic difference between a gasoline and diesel engine is in the way fuel is burnt to release energy. Diesels use heat from high compression to ignite the air-fuel mixture.