How many different cat breeds are there in the world?

fact, there are 40-70 different breeds of cats – though that number depends on who you ask. The CFA (Cat Fanciers Association) recognizes 42 pedigree breeds of cats, while TICA, the International Cat Association, recognizes 71 cat breeds