What is the difference between scotch and whiskey?

Scotch is a whisky that gets its distinctive smokey flavor from the process in which it is made: the grain, primarily barley, is malted and then heated over a peat fire. A whisky cannot be called Scotch unless it is entirely produced and bottled in Scotland.