Does velveeta cheese have to be refrigerated?

Velveeta is a very stable product and does not need to be refrigerated after opening. The one thing that can happen is a loss of moisture, which robs the Velveeta of many of its characteristic qualities, such as easy melting and ability to be molded. Store in sealed food storage bags.