How did jeff dunham get famous?

By the end of 1988, Jeff Dunham moved to Los Angeles, California. Dunham got a steady slot at The Comedy & Magic Club in Hermosa Beach, where Dunham was discovered by James McCawley, a talent booker for The Tonight Show. Dunham appeared on The Tonight Show Starring Johnny Carson on April 6, 1990.