Are there sulfites in beer?

Sulphites are sulphur compounds that occur naturally in the grapes and hops used to make wine and beer. They prevent the growth of the bacteria that make the drink go cloudy and literally turn the alcohol to vinegar. Most wines and beers have extra sulphites added.