How do you know if bean sprouts is bad?

Place the sprouts in the fridge as soon as you get home and use them before the best-before date. Use within two days of purchase if they are not pre-packaged. Throw away any sprouts that are past their best-before date or that have lost their crispness, look wilted or smell musty.