How fast does space travel?

This really depends on what you mean by "into space." If you just want to get into orbit around the Earth, you need to reach speeds of at least 4.9 miles per second, or about 17,600 miles per hour.

---

Space is expanding at the rate of 73 plus or minus 1 kilometer per second per megaparsec. At this rate, the size of the universe will double in about 10 billion years. This is according to Adam Riess of the Space Telescope Science Institute and his team, along with the Johns Hopkins University.