How do you soften a butternut squash?

The easiest way to soften butternut squash is to bake it. First, cut the squash in half the long way. Coat the cut side with oil and season with salt and pepper. Bake cut side down at 400 degrees Fahrenheit for about an hour or until soft. Let cool and then you can peel the skin with your hands.