How much does the average person grow in a year?

Humans experience two growth spurts. The first occurs in early childhood at around the ages of 2 to 3, during which a growth rate of 4 inches per year on average. The other growth spurt happens during puberty, girls grow 3 to 3 ½ inches per year, and boys grow 4 inches per year.