How long do you cook roasted beets?

Cut the beets in quarters, and toss with olive oil and some salt and pepper. Place in preheated 400 degree oven, and check for doneness after 45 to 50 minutes. They should easily pierce with a fork. Continue cooking until tender, checking at 10 minute intervals.