What is a private pilot?

A non-commercial pilot is known as a private pilot.

---

A private pilot is a 'rating' and license issued by the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA). Pilots that hold a "Private" rating or license cannot be financially compensated nor hired to carry passengers. Pilots that can be hired to carry passengers hold a "Commercial" rating or license.