Who is isis in egypt?

Isis is the wife of Osiris, the god of the underworld. She was believed to help the dead enter the afterlife as she had helped Osiris, and she was considered the divine mother of the pharaoh who was likened to Horus. She was usually portrayed as a woman wearing a throne-like hieroglyph on her head.