What is the difference between a grasshopper and a locus?

Grasshoppers tend to be larger than locusts, and don't exhibit the periodic swarming and crop-destroying behavior of locusts. Also, locusts can fly. Grasshoppers can hop longer distances with the aid of their wings, but don't really fly.