What does elephant in the womb mean?

The correct term is "elephant in the room". According to wikipedia, it is a metaphorical idiom for an important topic, question, or controversial issue that is obvious or that everyone knows about but no one mentions or wants to discuss because it makes at least some of them uncomfortable