Does potting soil go bad?

Age and improper storage degrade potting soil. The useful life of potting soil depends on whether or not it is currently in use. Unused potting soil lasts roughly six months before it degrades in quality, while used potting soil should be replaced every year or two.

---

As long as the soil doesn’t have a foul odor, and insect problem, or a disease issue it is perfectly fine to be used over and over again and even into next season.