What's a substitute for ghee?

Vegetable oils such as canola oil, soybean oil and olive oil can all be used in place of ghee. For curries or other long-cooked items, opt for oils that have a higher smoke point such as canola oil or soybean oil. Substitute 1 tablespoon of ghee with 1 tablespoon of other cooking oils.

---

Ghee is a form of clarified butter, so any other form should substitute nicely. You could also use canola oil, coconut oil, sesame oil, sunflower oil, or similar products. Several sources cite the healthiest option as extra virgin olive oil.