Who were the five heartbeats?

The movie The Five Heartbeats was loosely base on several groups, The Dells, The Temptations, Four Tops, Wilson Pickett, James Brown, Frankie Lymon, Sam Cooke and others). It stars (Robert Townsend, Michael Wright, Leon, Harry J. Lennix, Tico Wells)