What does the word shelby mean?

Shelby as a girls' name (also used less widely as boys' name) is pronounced SHEL-bee. It is of Old Norse origin, and the meaning of Shelby is "willow; from the ledge estate". English surname used as a given name for girls and occasionally for boys.