What is short-term memory loss?

Short-term memory loss is a form of memory impairment that is characterized by the inability to retain new information for more than a few minutes. This type of memory loss can be caused by a variety of factors, including head injuries, stroke, Alzheimer's disease, and other forms of dementia.