What is the definition of fig?

According to Wikipedia, a "fig is the edible fruit of Ficus carica, a species of small tree in the flowering plant family Moraceae." Additionally, "Figs can be eaten fresh or dried, or processed into jam, rolls, biscuits and other types of desserts."