How long do we cook shrimp for?

Usually as little as three (3) minutes, just until they turn pink and just a little opaque. They will cook some more just sitting, so if you want them for Shrimp Cocktail cool them quickly. If using in a cooked dish the general rule is add them last, when the rest of the ingredients are done.

---

When you put shrimp into a hot pan they are grey and unappealing. They will be pink with red tails when they are done. Usually 4-5 minutes depending on the size of the shrimp.