Why are lazy susans called lazy susans?

Legend has it that Thomas Jefferson invented the Lazy Susan because his daughter Susan complained she was always served last at the table and, as a result, never found herself full when leaving the table. So the lazy susan was invented so an entire group or family could be served at once.