What happened to give a mouse a cookie?

When you give a mouse cookie? If You Give a Mouse a Cookie is a children's book written by Laura Numeroff and illustrated by Felicia Bond, first published in 1985. Described as a "circular tale", illustrating a slippery slope, it is Numeroff and Bond's first collaboration