What is a two d. movie?

A normal movie is a 2D movie. 2D refers to the two dimensions (width and height) whereas a 3D movie has a third dimension, depth. Sometimes people make the mistake of calling an animated movie a 3D movie, when in fact it just a 2D movie made in a 3D application.