Is french toast french?

Not really, in France it is known as "pain perdu" or lost bread. The earliest known reference to this dish goes back to the 4th or 5th century, called "aliter dulcia" or "another sweet dish", where chunks of bread were soaked in milk and eggs, fried in oil, then covered with honey.