What is mold spores?

WebMD reports, mold is a type of fungus that consists of small organisms found almost everywhere. In small amounts, mold spores are usually harmless, but in a damp spot, they can start to grow. When mold is growing on a surface, spores can be released into the air where they can be easily inhaled.