What is a wire measure?

Wire gauge is a way to measure wire conductor thickness. Each gauge is represented by a number. House wiring is typically 12 or 14 gauge. Smaller gauge numbers are thicker and can carry more current. Another wire measurement is insulation. Insulation determines the maximum voltage it can support.