What are giant asian hornets?

The Asian giant hornet, referred to as the Japanese giant hornet, is the world's largest hornet, It was also found in the Pacific Northwest of North America in late 2019, with a few more additional sightings in 2020, and nests found in 2021, prompting concern that it could become an invasive species