Who is the megalodon?

Megalodon (meaning "big tooth") is an extinct species of shark, that lived approximately 23 to 3.6 million years ago, during the Early Miocene to the Pliocene. It was formerly thought to be a member of the family Lamnidae, and a close relative of the great white shark.