What level do you have to be to fight sans in undertale?

To fight Sans, your level does not matter, as following the requirements to fight him will always raise you to level 19. To do so, you must kill enough monsters in an area until you get the message, "But nobody came," at the start of an encounter. Then kill the boss, and repeat in the next area.