What's the difference between a sushi roll and a sushi hand roll?

Sushi roll, or maki, is a cylindrical roll that is cut crosswise and can be eaten with chopsticks. A hand roll is conical, like a small ice cream cone, and is served all in one piece, to be eaten by hand.

---

The most significant and noticeable difference is their shapes. Sushi rolls are rolled with a bamboo mat, they have a typical cylindrical shape and are cut into smaller pieces. Temaki or hand-rolled sushi has a conical shape that is rolled by bare hands. This cone is eaten by hand hence the name.