Where did the term jerry rigged come from?

In the nautical world, the word jury means makeshift or temporary. Jerry-built is an adjective that describes something that’s cheaply or flimsily built. The word jerry-rigged is a mixture of jury-rigged and jerry-built. Some etymologists claim that jerry-rig is just a misspelling of jury-rig.