What is a fictional tone?

Tone in fiction is the attitude of the narrator or viewpoint character toward story events and other characters. In a story with first-person POV, tone can also be the narrator's attitude toward the reader. In non-fiction, tone is the writer's attitude toward subject matter and reader.