What is the origin of the phrase hand over fist?

Hand over fist means to do something very quickly, at a rapid pace. The term hand over fist almost exclusively is used when referring to the accumulation of money. The term comes from pulling in the rope of a ship. Original phrase was hand over hand, and referred to doing something at a steady pace.