What is the meaning behind an advent calendar?

Advent is the orthodox Christian liturgical season which begins four Sundays before Christmas and ends on Christmas Day, the 25th of December. It is a time of preparation for the celebration of the birth of Jesus, who is the savior according to all Christian tradition.