Why isn't the golden gate bridge golden?

It's the Golden Gate Bridge because that's what that section of the San Fransisco Bay is called due to the 1849 gold rush. It's the redish orange color because of the rust preventative paint that is continually sand blasted and repainted 365 days a year due to the corrosive location above the bay.