How do you soak black eyed peas?

Rinse the dried peas in water, cover them with water by 2 inches, add 2 tablespoons coarse kosher salt (or 1 tablespoon fine salt) per pound of peas, and let them soak for at least 4 hours or up to 12 hours. Drain them and rinse before using.