Do moths eat their babies?

The female moths don't have legs or wings, so they can never venture far from their cocoons. After mating, they return to the cocoon and hatch their larvae. And when the young hatch, they immediately eat their mother, meaning they get a meal rich in fat before they start their lives alone.