How long is a gigabyte?

Computer storage is measured in bytes which are essentially numbers ranging from zero to 255. A gigabyte of data consists of a billion bytes. Length depends on what kind and type of data you're talking about such as movies or audio and how they're encoded. There are too many variations to list here.