Where is south central l. a.?

South Los Angeles, also known as South Central Los Angeles or simply South Central, is a region in southwestern Los Angeles County, in California. Lying mostly within the city limits of Los Angeles, south of downtown. It is defined on Los Angeles city maps as a 16-square-mile rectangle.