What does drop of a hat mean?

When you use the expression 'At the Drop of a Hat' you mean that something is happening instantly, without any delay. Example of use: “We're all packed and ready to go; we can leave at the drop of a hat.”

---

The phrase drop of a hat is used to describe something that happens instantly, and without any delay