What is a fallacy?

According to Merriam-Webster definition- 1a: a false or mistaken idea, prone to perpetrate the fallacy of equating threat with capability b: erroneous character : ERRONEOUSNESS 2a: deceptive appearance : DECEPTION, GUILE, TRICKERY 3: an often plausible argument using false or invalid inference