How long do hens lay eggs?

A hen will take roughly 25 hours to form and lay an egg. If the eggs are harvested a hen will continue to lay eggs for up to about a year. If the nest fills with eggs a hen will stop laying eggs and brood, remaining over the nest to incubate and protect the eggs.